Why I Garden

As 2012 ends, I complete a second full year of WordPress blogging. I cannot express how much I appreciate your visits to pbmGarden. Thank you for taking time and interest in my little backyard garden retreat, for offering your friendly support and for sharing your ideas and expertise so generously.

Echinacea purpurea 'White Swan' (Coneflower) October 4, 2012

Echinacea purpurea ‘White Swan’ (Coneflower) October 4, 2012

I began planting perennials in earnest about 1996 in a very different setting, though not far from where I live now. A bit of beginner’s luck that first season strengthened my interest and now it is hard to imagine not tending a gardening. I still miss that first garden, which promptly was returned to lawn after we moved.

Since it no longer exists, not even in pictures, it is easy to idealize that garden, but I will always carry with me a deep satisfaction of one moment in time, almost a sigh really, when I surveyed the spring blossoms through dappled sunlight and felt the world just click into place.

That stop-time experience is what I will always be seeking in this garden. It may never be reached again but several times this spring I sensed that moment was close.

The tagline for pbmGarden is actually one I used for another garden blog between 2006-2009.

Sense of place, purpose, rejuvenation and joy

It comes from realizing the awesomeness of working and just being in a garden. Of guiding and being guided by the world of plants. Of noticing the restorative properties the garden bestows. Of being humbled by the whims of nature.

I just like the way I feel when I am in a garden. What inspires your interest in gardens?

16 thoughts on “Why I Garden

  1. Christina

    I have enjoyed reading your posts so much since I discovered you during 2012. Does Echinacea purpurea ‘White Swan’ grow true from seed, it is a fine specimen. Why do I garden? I think I should write a post I will need to get my thoughts together. Happy Gardening, Christina

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      I’m sure your “why do I garden” post would be fascinating Christina. Hope you will write it. I don’t know from personal experience about ‘White Swan’ but I found several anecdotal statements that say, yes, it does grow true from seed. One person said yes, but you can’t grow it near a pink one because they cross easily. Thanks for your kind words.

      Reply
  2. Cathy

    A lovely selection of photos, Susie. (And I like the presentation style too!) The circle really looks lovely all through the spring and early summer. My experience is similar, my first garden was created from scratch between 1999 and 2005. (I miss that too, although it was very very small). Simply being in a garden makes me feel good and forget any worries. I can think clearly and I feel more self-confident. I also feel humble – very small in such a big world of plants and trees, with so much still to learn!
    Hope 2013 is the perfect gardening year for you! 😀

    Reply
  3. Stepheny Houghtlin

    I just love this blog. It fills a perfect niche. Wonderful photos, interesting information. As you come to the end of your 2nd blogging year, I wish you ‘garden joy’ in 2013 and more perfect moments in your garden when all is right with the world. Happy New Year

    Reply
  4. paulinemulligan

    So happy I found your blog in 2012, what a lovely garden you have made, so sad that the owners of your last garden didn’t appreciate what you left behind, their loss! Your circle is so interesting at all times of year and unusual too in its design. Hope you have a wonderful gardening year in 2013.

    Reply
  5. P&B

    Such a beautiful garden!

    Why I garden? I derive a sense of peacefulness and accomplishment from gardening. It’s not about what I can get from the garden, but all the changes I witness which is worth more than anything else. To see seeds sprout, flowers blossom, and birds and insects come to visit because what I have done to this little patch of the earth…I feel I have accomplished something worthwhile. I can provide miles long of reasons, but I think you have already known that.

    Have a wonderful New Year 2013

    Reply
  6. sweetbay103

    I’m happy to “meet” a local blogger! We lived in Chapel Hill for several years (both DH and I graduated from school there) and now we live a half an hour south of Raleigh.

    Your garden is beautiful.

    The reason why I garden? That would make a good post. 🙂

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Same here–happy to meet you too. It will be nice to follow along to compare what is happening in your garden this year. Thanks for your nice comment and I’ll look forward to reading about why you garden.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

