Dawn To Dusk

The first of the Daylilies started blooming this week, but when I went out with the camera yesterday the flowers had closed. Today, another blossom and another chance.

Hemerocallis (Daylily)

Hemerocallis (Daylily)

Hemerocallis (Daylily)

Hemerocallis (Daylily)

When first married I once decorated the table for a small dinner party using tiny glasses of Daylilies, as I had seen my friend Janice do when visiting her just a few days earlier.

Just before the guests arrived I checked the table one last time only to discover the Daylilies had all tightly closed. Suddenly I remembered my friend’s beautiful centerpiece had graced her table at brunch, not dinner, and I realized how Daylilies got their name.

Hemerocallis (Daylily)

Hemerocallis (Daylily)

20 thoughts on “Dawn To Dusk

  1. Christina

    Do you know the name of your beautiful Hemerocallis? They are so lovely and ephemeral, opening they flowers for just one day; it is strange a plant can expend so much energy to produce such a large flower and then do it over the following day.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Cathy. I have one other daylily and if I remember correctly, it is orange too (sort of tangerine). Hope yours do well this year.

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks! Before the time of that story I hadn’t much experience with growing flowers, so I certainly learned something about them that day.

      Reply
  2. Pauline

    We only have a very small yellow daylily flowering at the moment, but the others have loads of buds just waiting to start the daylily show once more. Loved the story about your daylilies, that is a beautiful one that you photographed.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Pauline. I’ll watch your blog for your daylilies. I have one other tangerine colored one and then some roadside kind I’m trying to eradicate as they’ve taken over a large section of the border.

      Reply
  3. Alberto

    You made me chuckle with your tale, things that often happens when we try to emulate others… Love that red with the silver leaves of artemisia and stachys.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      So we’re finally in sync on at least one flower. I’m surprised yours are already open Donna. I haven’t added more because of the deer around here.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

