Summer Beginnings

Summer Solstice 2013 was at 1:04 AM (ET) on Friday, June 21.
Summer is my favorite season so I welcome its official arrival today. The weather is glorious—clear and sunny, only 78°F., humidity is low at 40%.

Summer is not the best time of year for my garden, that would be spring, but the weather has been fairly moderate with ample rainfall, so the garden is in stronger condition than usual as the seasons transition.

Gladiolus In Northern Border

Gladiolus In Northern Border

I always keep a few Gladioli and they recently began blooming.

Gladiolus

Gladiolus

When I began this garden I encountered some snobbishness from a young horticulturalist about growing Gladioli and I remember it was an odd moment. Never before had I really thought much about why one chooses to grow (or not grow) a particular plant. It is an interesting subject to me now. Preference is one thing and the avoidance of invasive species is a necessity, but why would a plant carry a social stigma?

Gladiolus

Gladiolus

I love reading about what other gardeners are growing and I enjoy learning about new (and old) plants. The gardener’s personality comes out in one’s plant choices, it seems to me, and that can make each garden quite special.

Gladioli

Gladioli

Though I mention that incident from long ago, I actually I never worry what the neighbors might think if they spot a Gladiolus in my garden. The tall spikes of blossoms remind me of summer and of my maternal grandmother, who grew rows of glads, as she called them, for cutting flowers. As a child I loved helping her make large and colorful bouquets for her sun porch and that memory seems reason enough to grow a flower.

Gladioli

Gladiolus

As summer begins a few other plants characterize the garden. Echinacea and Salvia have been blooming for a few weeks now. Yesterday a friend offered me a piece of orange Echinacea ‘Sunset’ which I had recently vowed to quit trying to grow. I accepted without hesitation, of course, and will try to give it a good home.

Echinacea purpurea (Purple Coneflower)

Echinacea purpurea (Purple Coneflower)

Echinacea purpurea (Purple Coneflower)

Echinacea purpurea (Purple Coneflower)

Echinacea purpurea (Purple Coneflower)

Echinacea purpurea (Purple Coneflower)

Salvia guaranitica 'Black and Blue'

Salvia guaranitica ‘Black and Blue’

A small container of mixed Sedum from last year has spilled over the sides of its pot and is flowering for the first time.

Mixed Sedum

Mixed Sedum

Happy Summer!

14 thoughts on “Summer Beginnings

  1. Christina

    I’m so happy to hear your positive attitude to summer; after the terrible drought and unbearable temperatures of last summer I havebeen dreading this summer, but I should try to be more positive, it may not be so hot this year and some things are good in the garden, Love the black and blue salvia.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      The drought made for a tough summer last year, more in your area than here, but I recall during some bad drought years when I thought my garden was lost for good. I think that’s why I have mentioned our good rains in nearly every post lately. So grateful.

      Reply
  2. Cathy

    Personally I adore gladioli! Your pale purple one is so lovely, and flowers that bring back childhood memories are somehow magical. I look forward to going to the roadside flower fields later this summer to pick armfuls of gladis and sunflowers. Happy summer Susie!

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Oh, I remember being amazed you could stop and pick from the roadside flower fields Cathy. Hope you’ll share them when the time comes.

      Reply
  3. bittster

    The glads look great. I had a few last year and loved them as both cut flowers and outdoor blooms. Your post just reminded me that the bulbs are still sitting in the garage waiting to be planted!

    Reply
  4. Pauline

    Really like your first gladioli, such an unusual colour. Take no notice of fashion in gardens, if you like gladioli, then grow them! I hate to admit, but I forgot to plant mine this year -oops!

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Pauline, I like that lavender/white combination too. Is it too late to plant your bulbs now? There’s still time in my area.

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      It will be fun to see how your hardy glads do. I’ve looked at them before but never bought any. Actually the current glads are all from previous years, some as far back as twelve years, but they’re unpredictable.

      Reply
  5. gardeninacity

    Happy summer to you as well. You must be somewhat ahead of us, our coneflowers are not yet close to blooming. I also have ‘Black and Blue’, isn’t it great?

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Yes, probably a little ahead here in zone 7b. Black and Blue has such strong color and character, yes I was was just recommending it to a friend today. Susie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

