Garden Bloggers Foliage Day – July 2013

July Foliage In Terrace Gardens-Duke Gardens

July Foliage In Terrace Gardens-Duke Gardens

I am joining Christina at Creating my own garden of the Hesperides for Garden Bloggers Foliage Day (GBFD), today. This article is photo-intensive so I have arranged the images in sets that should be easy to scan for a quick overview. To get a better look at the plant details you may want to click on each gallery.

My foliage looks quite similar to the way it did last month so I walked through nearby Duke Gardens this morning with the idea to look for inspiring uses of foliage.

Although there was quite a lot in bloom today at Duke Gardens, I was surprised to see how strongly the textures and colors of leaves, stalks and pods distinguish this setting.

In this garden many plants are labelled, but not all. Rather than try to identify each component I concentrated on the way individual elements had been blended to create distinctive combinations.

We entered the garden through the recently renovated rose garden where materials other than roses filled many planters.

We continued down the Perennial Allée.

We stopped to admire Azalea Court before veering toward the Wisteria Pergola.

July Foliage At Azalea Court-Duke Gardens

July Foliage At Azalea Court-Duke Gardens

Planter Near Wisteria Pergola-Duke Gardens

Planter Near Wisteria Pergola-Duke Gardens

Entering the Terrace Gardens vistas open up. The borders are filled with thoughtful and creative selections.

At the bottom of the Terrace Gardens is the fish pool filled with colorful Koi.

July Foliage-Terrace Fish Pool At Duke Gardens

July Foliage-Terrace Fish Pool At Duke Gardens

Thanks to Christina for hosting. Be sure to visit her to see her featured foliage and find links to other foliage highlights of other GBFD bloggers.

14 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers Foliage Day – July 2013

  1. Christina

    Thank you so much for joining in again this month, sorry I was late getting my post up. I loved all your images, the different textures and varied tones of green show perfectly how important foliage is in any garden. You are lucky to have such an inspirational park near by. I loved the image just before the end of the path edged with green shrubs, so inviting.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Christina, I was happy to join in–thank you for providing the framework for featuring foliage. I also really liked that view of the path with the shrubs and wish my own garden held more secrets as to what was beyond. It’s nice to visit gardens and see what is possible. Susie

      Reply
  2. Annette

    What an exquisite garden tour, thank you! I very much enjoy the lush foliage, all the contrasting textures and forms, quite exciting 🙂

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Glad you enjoyed this garden Annette. Knowing I was going to do a post on foliage made me more aware of how big an impact careful use of textures and forms can have.

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Glad you enjoyed the little tour Cathy. We are fortunate to live close by this garden. It is much larger than what I’ve shown here and there is always something interesting and inspiring.

      Reply
  3. Pauline

    What a wonderful garden to have close by, the first photo of the Agave is stunning with the other silver foliage, there were so many beautiful plants there to inspire everyone.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Hi Pauline. I really liked the Agave also. I could have done the entire post with agave photos! This is something I don’t grow but it might be fun to add. They take up a lot of space though so don’t know where I’d put one right now. Have a good day. Susie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

