Beginnings

A sunny, warm afternoon yesterday gave me a chance to try out my new Felco 8 Classic Pruners. They worked great and I was able to easily trim the liriope and creeping juniper in the front along with a clematis and a few other things in the back garden. So, although there is another month before spring officially arrives, my spring gardening season has begun.

As I worked I uncovered 3 hyacinths making their way out of the winter darkness. These were planted twelve years ago before the liriope that came with our home’s “landscape package” had spread so thickly. I did not understand at that time that some liriope clumps and some runs. Unfortunately this is the rascally running type, not very desirable and not so easy to contain. At any rate, yesterday I managed to trim the old leaves of the liriope without damaging these three surviving hyacinths.

Each spring I chide myself for not taking time the previous fall to plant lots of new spring bulbs. Oh well, these three little treasures will bring special enjoyment and there are lots of daffodils coming up as well.

Hyacinthus orientalis (Common, Dutch or Garden Hyacinth)

Hyacinthus orientalis (Common, Dutch or Garden Hyacinth)

20 thoughts on “Beginnings

    1. pbmgarden Post author

      I’ll make a point of it Judy when I can. Glad you can still Smiley Face in the midst of all that snow! Actually, the soil is pretty wet from last week’s melted snow and a rainstorm this morning, so I’m not disturbing it just yet.

      Reply
  1. Cathy

    I’ve got some new tools waiting to be initiated too, but I think they will have to be patient for a couple more weeks. I also have three Hyacinths, but only leaves showing so far. I bet it’s good to be outside again Susie!

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      It did feel good to be back outside Cathy. Today was a busy errand day so didn’t manage to find time, but it is supposed to stay warm a few more days. Get your new tools ready–it will come for you too.

      Reply
  2. Stephi

    I’m a long ways from knowing if there’s anything growing yet. In the meantime, I’ll just have to be happy with my indoor hyacinth I bought at Trader Joes.

    Reply
  3. garden98110

    The joy of the outdoors. Revisiting your cherished hyacinth. Tools that fit naturally in the hand and leave a clean stub. Simple healing joys some call fleeting seem to last the longest. — THGg

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Some say you’re happiest when you stay in the moment and I find that easiest to do when in the garden. I am most aware of each action, such as noticing that clean stub. The effect does linger.

      Reply
  4. Annette

    One of my hyacinths has been half munched 😦 , but there are a few more, yet unnoticed by the greedy visitor. How I’d love a carpet of Liriope, Susie! Never had much luck with them…

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Hope your hyacinth taster will let you enjoy the remaining ones Annette. Liriope comes in and out of favor with me. I think it is slightly invasive here, although I can’t find documentation of that just now. Will have to check on that again. Have a good day.

      Reply
  5. bittster

    It sure sounds nice to get back out there, and I for one love pruning so I can appreciate your new “toy”. We had some warmth today, but still too much snow remains.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

