Narcissus For The Neighborhood

Narcissus

Narcissus

One thousand daffodil bulbs sit in my garage awaiting planting this weekend. Happily I am not responsible for the actual planting. Who knew how heavy bulbs can be?

The grounds committee for my neighborhood, of which I am a member, ordered 500 Ice Follies and 500 King Alfred to be distributed among our central common areas and around our eight cul-de-sacs.

Ice Follies and King Alfred

Ice Follies and King Alfred

I pushed for one large river of daffodils, but am satisfied these bulbs will make a nice welcome in spring.

Narcissus bulbs will brighten the neighborhood in spring.

32 thoughts on “Narcissus For The Neighborhood

      1. Don Buchanan

        I put in 200 narcissus yesterday. I cheat though. I use a 1.25 inch spade bit in my battery-powered electric drill for small bulbs, and a great bulb auger I picked up at Lee Valley Tools for the bigger bulbs. I can get almost 300 bulbs in in 2 hours (before the batteries and I need a recharge!)

      2. pbmgarden Post author

        That will look beautiful. The men who planted our bulbs this weekend had a similar setup but the ground in our neighborhood is so hard it made for difficult digging.

  1. Stepheny Houghtlin

    A wonderful community project. It will be breath taking over the years as they bulbs naturalize beyond this 1st planting. There should be some sort of award that you receive for adding beauty in your corner of heaven. Congrats.

    Reply
  2. johnvic8

    I remember ordering a bushel of daffodils some years ago and particularly remember what a chore it was to get them in the ground. I’m glad for your sake that it is a community project.

    Reply
  3. Christina

    Your area sounds a great area to live with projects like this Susie. I’m in the middle of planting some narcissus in the cuttings bed, I can’t wait for spring!

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      I do think we live in great community–lots of good volunteers. Your cutting beds were fabulous and the narcissus will be a great addition. Happy planting!

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Pauline, it would be great if our neighborhood became the daffodil community. Maybe we can keep adding more bulbs each year to finally achieve the “river of daffodils” idea.

      Reply
  4. Julie

    That will be a lasting gift to your neighbourhood Susie. We had a similar project in our village, one lady championed the project some years ago and with only a couple of helpers mass planted with King Alfreds throughout the village. We all benefited and it looks so cheerful in Spring.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Julie, your village must be a cheerful place when those King Alfreds are in bloom. Hope this project works out as well. I hope we will keep adding more bulbs each year and of course they will naturally multiply.

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      We’ve had community planting days before, but actually we’ve hired someone to do the planting this time. Maybe the promise of hot cocoa would have tipped the decision the other way.

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Oh yes, Cathy, everyone will appreciate the daffodils if you start a similar project. I have some bulbs of my own that will have to wait a few days. Happy planting!

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      When I saw how many bulbs we have to plant I realized we made the right decision not to try to do them ourselves this year. Really looking forward to seeing the daffodils in the spring.

      Reply
  5. bittster

    For a second I was afraid you had purchased these all for your own garden. It would have looked great, but the planting would have likely been the end of you! Nice that they will be spread around the neighborhood. I love the promise of color that all bulbs seem to hold 🙂

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Your are right. Before seeing the actual number in person I might have been tempted, but now will always stick to bags of 25 or fewer. Let’s hope spring comes soon!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

