Wordless Wednesday—Garden Outlined In Snow

Brief Snow Flurries Today

Brief Snow Flurries Today

We had light snow and sleet late Monday afternoon. Much melted today but then we had another brief flurry around 5pm this evening. Minutes later the sun is shining. Record cold temperatures with low tonight of 12°F. On Thursday, a high of 16°F and low of  1°F (–17C).

Brief Snow Flurries Today

Brief Snow Flurries Today

Yesterday morning the garden outlines were highlighted.

Garden Outlines, Yesterday Morning

Garden Outlines, Yesterday Morning

The birds have been fun to watch.

Birds At Breakfast Yesterday

Birds At Breakfast Yesterday

Today’s flurries over, the sun prevails a half-hour later.

After The Snow, Blue Sky

After The Snow, Blue Sky

33 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday—Garden Outlined In Snow

  1. johnvic8

    No snow here today, other than about five or six flakes. A light snow does wonders in helping us see our garden from unique perspective. Your overhead views are marvelous.

    Reply
  2. P&B

    I hope your garden doesn’t get hit too hard from this frigid temperature. My concern is for your lovely gardenias, ginger lilies and lantana.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      While some areas are literally buried under snow, it seems almost frivolous to even mention our little dusting, but the snow does make the garden take on a different look. I am worried for the gardenias especially in this cold.

      Reply
  3. Christina

    I love seeing your garden from above. It is beautiful under its thin layer of snow that emphasizes the layout rather then hiding it. Keep warm Susie and spring isn’t too far off I think.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Christina, I too enjoy seeing my garden from up high. It reminds me of some of my original intent and how things how shifted over the years. Spring will be wonderful.

      Reply
  4. mattb325

    Your garden looks truly beautiful in the snow and especially so when viewed from above. I do hope your gardenias are safe – I don’t know how such tender plants will survive such low temperatures. Hopefully spring will show itself soon. You guys have endured quite a harsh winter.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thank you Matt. I like to observe the garden from up high. It adds a totally new layer of enjoyment. So many areas are much worse off than we are this winter, but this cold is pretty harsh. I am worried for the gardenias as they never quite recovered from last year’s cold. Spring is welcome here any time.

      Reply
  5. Julie

    Oh Susie, that looks beautiful but when I read your temperatures, it reminds me of a trip to New York in February some years ago and the temperature on arrival was 0 in fahrenheit. The cold is something I’ll never forget. I really hope your temperatures warm up soon, and lovely to see the birds enjoying breakfast with you.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      That NY cold left an impression on you Julie, understandably. One Christmas my late mother-in-law visited us here from Florida and it was 0F. I felt so sorry for her having to be out in that cold. The next Christmas it was 70F and just lovely, so you never know what winter will be like here. I’ll take the 70F any day. Poor little birds–they really have to work hard to stay warm.

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks, I do like to see the garden with edges highlighted by the snow. The groundhog didn’t see his shadow so by tradition we are due an early spring, but meanwhile winter is packing in as much cold as possible.

      Reply
  6. Pauline

    Your garden looks lovely with its sprinkling of snow. I’m so glad to hear that you didn’t get caught in the snow and ice storms that we saw on our news.

    Reply
  7. Alberto

    Hi! Beautiful pictures and your garden looks really good outlined in the snow. So cold! I remember when I used to live in the mountains it was -15°C at 5 pm.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Hi Alberto! So nice to hear from you. What have you been up to? I’ll have to go check out your blog. It has remained cold this week so the garden is still tipped in snow. Some parts of the US have had unreasonable amounts of snow so I don’t complain about this little bit.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

