In A Vase On Monday—Resilience And Vulnerability

Floating Helleborus x hybridus (Lenten rose) In A Glass Dish

Floating Helleborus x hybridus (Lenten rose) In A Glass Dish

Monday brings an opportunity to practice flower arranging by joining in Cathy’s weekly challenge In A Vase On Monday to fill a vase using materials gathered from one’s garden.

Resilience is an admirable trait in people and in plants. In the plant world Helleborus stands among the very best of the irrepressible. Our low temperature may not have quite reached 1°F this week, but 2°F felt just as cold. A brief reprieve this weekend brought Sunday’s high into the 50s and when I quickly searched late in the afternoon for anything that might go into a vase this week, I had only to stop in front of the hellebores. While one clump did strike a limp posture, several other groups appeared ebullient. I collected some happy ones.

Helleborus x hybridus (Lenten rose)

Helleborus x hybridus (Lenten rose)

On the other hand, before coming inside I checked on the more vulnerable Daphne odora ‘Aureomarginata’ (Winter daphne) that has been covered in reddish-tipped buds for weeks. Before the recent cold hit the daphnes seemed poised for a thrilling bloom time. Unfortunately in a repeat of last year, now they reveal only great distress and browning and I doubt there will be many, if any, flowers.

For this week’s arrangement I chose a footed glass dish with a shallow bowl to display the flowers. I placed large black stones in the bottom and covered them with water. I trimmed the stems quite short and floated the hellebores above the rocks for a colorful Monday offering.

Helleborus x hybridus (Lenten rose)

Helleborus x hybridus (Lenten rose)

Helleborus x hybridus (Lenten rose)

Helleborus x hybridus (Lenten rose)

Thanks to Cathy at Rambling In The Garden for hosting. Please visit her to see what she and others are placing In A Vase On Monday. You may be tempted to join in as well. It is fun.

41 thoughts on “In A Vase On Monday—Resilience And Vulnerability

  1. Christina

    What a shame about the Daphne, Susie. Maybe in future years you could cover it with fleece on very cold nights. People here often wrap their citrus for the whole winter so I don’t think it would do any harm. I love the Hellebores floating and the black stones were an excellent idea. Have a good week, Christina

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      As you mentioned on your blog today, gardeners are always looking to next year. I’ll have to take more care with the daphne next year. I added the stones or contrast but also to help support the flowers a bit, as the dish is a little deeper than I would normally use for floating hellebores. Seems to have worked.

      Reply
  2. Marian St.Clair

    I don’t think we’ll know the full extent of damage until summer. I’m especially fearful for the Japanese maples, as the sap may have begun to rise in at least some. I’m sorry about your Daphne. I wonder if the bigleaf hydrangeas buds are okay, as they went by the wayside last year too. Your vase is a perfect winter offering. The use of black rocks is inspired.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Marian, hope your Japanese maples come through this winter unscathed. It is disappointing about the Daphne. I’m afraid to check the hydrangeas (Jayme gave me these several years ago but last year they didn’t bloom at all because of the cold. I’m still hopeful.)

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Stepheny, I always regret not getting some of the more exotic colors. Last year I’d planned a trip to Pine Knott Farms but the weather was too icy. I see they’ve extended their open weekends further into March this year.

      Reply
  3. Cathy

    Lovely to see your hellebore flowers displayed so prettily. They certainly are resilient. Mine are in bud and I can’t wait for them to open! Such a shame about your Daphne. A reminder for me why I don’t grow one although I am tempted again and again to try. Perhaps one or two flowers will make it through. Hope it stays warmer for you now!

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Cathy. The hellebores cheered me up. Hope yours open soon for you to enjoy. The Daphne is hardy in my growing zone but our temperatures have been below normal this winter and last. I hope you’re right and a few of the flowers were protected enough that they will open.

      Reply
  4. Kris P

    Simple and positively beautiful, Susie! I’m sorry to hear about the Daphne – I know how disappointing it is to lose flowers like that, so close to reaching bloom. (We don’t get snow but our Santa Ana winds and increasingly unpredictable heatwaves wreak a similar type of havoc in the garden.) I hope the snow and cold weather abates soon!

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Kris. Gardening certainly has its ups and downs–maybe the daphne will surprise me yet. You must be also concerned about the lack of rain this year. It seems very serious.

      Reply
  5. Julie

    Your display is beautiful Susie, your temperatures are not! Sorry to read about your Daphne, Hellebores are amazing the way they put up with so much and still look lovely. I hope you have a better forecast than 2f on the way.

    Reply
  6. rickii

    This is definitely the way to display Hellebores. Their faces are truly lovely but their shy, nodding ways tend to hide them from view in the garden.

    Reply
  7. Anna

    Oh how pretty Susie. I floated hellebores today as well. I like your idea of placing some stones in the bottom of your bowl. Wish that I had thought of that 🙂 What a shame about your daphne especially after a disappointing year last year. I hope that the flowers that you do get are extra big and colourful.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Anna. I guess hellebores are proving their value in lots of gardens this winter! I appreciate the the good wishes for large and colorful flowers this year. Same for you.

      Reply
  8. bittster

    What a nice bit of reassurance on yet another cold day. The rocks on the bottom are a nice touch and I’m hoping one or two of the daphne blooms make it through in spite of the cold.

    Reply
  9. Amy

    What a beautiful arrangement! I love the combination of different varieties in your dish – just lovely that way. Wishing you plenty of springtime after such a nasty winter!

    Reply
  10. Chloris

    So sad about your Daphne. But your hellebores are looking wonderful. I think this is the best way to display them as they always wilt in a vase. Oh dear, more snow, I hope it will soon be Spring for you.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Yes, poor little Daphnes. Guess I’d been lucky the first few years after I planted them. The winters were milder and the fragrance was so lovely. Next year…

      Reply
  11. Julie

    Such a beautiful bowl f hellebores – this is my favourite way to display them. I am sorry to hear that the cold weather has destroyed your daphne flowers – it is so disappointing when that happens to a special plant.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

