In A Vase On Monday—Dandelion Inspired

In A Vase On Monday

In A Vase On Monday-Dandelion Inspired

Monday brings an opportunity to practice flower arranging by joining in Cathy’s weekly challenge In A Vase On Monday to fill a vase using materials gathered from one’s garden.

Last week a dear houseguest visited. The days were marked by unwelcome cold and rain. Warmer weather at the weekend made it possible to spend some overdue time outdoors. Still, the sun has been very timid. This evening it has just come out in time to set.

Two King Alfred daffodils opened a few days ago and I brought them indoors ahead of a predicted ice/sleet storm. Today, the first Narcissus ‘Tete-a-Tete’ are in bloom.

In looking for something to place in a vase today, for some reason a dandelion in the grass seemed magical, a sure sign that winter is moving on. The fluffy yellow flower began fading before I could get it photographed but never mind. It had already served its purpose by making tangible a moment of realization that spring is coming.

In A Vase On Monday

In A Vase On Monday

The entire rest of the arrangement was chosen just to provide a bit of accompaniment for the dandelion: hellebores on a glass dish, ebony stones and a candy tin that repeats the hues of the dandelion and the stones.

Imaging what goes with a dandelion

Imaging what goes with a dandelion

Thanks to Cathy at Rambling In The Garden for hosting. Please visit her to see what she and others are placing In A Vase On Monday.

27 thoughts on “In A Vase On Monday—Dandelion Inspired

    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Donna. Almost didn’t get around to making a vase this week again, but the dandelion caught my imagination. Hope you warm up soon too. We’re due rain all week…

      Reply
  1. Kris P

    Dandelions are one of those plants that prove that what is a “weed” is all a matter of perspective, Susie. While I haven’t let them completely take over my excuse for a lawn, I admit that I often let them be when I find them in full bloom like that.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Hi Kris. I read the dandelions provide early food for bees so you can justify your lawn easily. The flower really looked prettier before I picked it today.

      Reply
  2. Cathy

    This is so lovely Susie…. yes, the realisation that spring is coming must be celebrated at that very moment and your dandelion is a wonderful sight! I shall be looking out for them in the next few days – the leaves are there already. The whole arrangement is nostalgic and modern at the same time. You are so talented at arranging and I always enjoy your more minimalist vases most of all. Happy Spring Susie!

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks! Happy Spring to you too Cathy! It feels wonderful to know spring is in our future. I’ve never appreciated a dandelion in my life so much in my life as when I spotted this one. Delighted you like the arrangement. My husband laughed when I saved the little candy tin–it is nostalgic in design–but I felt it could have a place in a Monday vase someday. Let me know when your dandelions flower.

      Reply
  3. Christina

    Very perceptive of you to recognise that the dandelions i heralds of spring; I noticed before I went away that the bright yellow weeds were flowering here, I leave them for the bees as you mentioned to Kris.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Hope you had a nice time away Christina. I’m anxious to recognize any and all signs of spring this year. Seems like it’s been a long winter and the bright yellow dandelion flower felt like a gift yesterday.

      Reply
  4. Julie

    I love your arrangement Susie, its so stylish, cheerful and looks magical too. Dandelions are good for early Bees, we let them grow here and like you enjoy the sign of Spring. I hope your weather picks up.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Glad you like the arrangement and it’s good of you to help the early bees Julie. Until recently I didn’t know dandelions were useful for them, but I’m slowly catching up.

      Reply
  5. Cathy

    The symbolism of the dandelion is great – thank you so much for another example of how we can expand our horizons with our ‘vases’. It doesn’t always have to be ‘pretty pretty’ and this is so stylish, a composition of little things that delight – with a delightful result of course! Thank you Susie 🙂

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thank you Cathy. The spontaneous decision to include my little dandelion prompted me to try something different and besides, flowers are still scarce here. The stones had been sitting on the counter after I disassembled the hellebore vase from a couple of weeks ago so this came together quickly. Thanks for hosting.

      Reply
  6. Stephi

    Yay a dandelion! I know they’re a weed, but I still find them so pretty. Snow is melting so maybe I’ll see some soon here. Love the “vase” this week.

    Reply
  7. Alberto

    Wow Susie, i’ve been away for quite a long time but what happened to you? these pictures really impressed me! Beautiful arrangement and I love the colours. that hellebore bud that echoes the pear on the box, wow! Did you take some course of photography meanwhile?

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Alberto! I need a good photography class Alberto–it’s not easy for me to get consistently reliable images. If I can get good light, sometimes they turn out ok. You should join in Cathy’s In A Vase On Monday meme. It’s lots of fun to see what you can find each week.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

