In A Vase On Monday—April Allure

 

In A Vase On Monday - April Allure

In A Vase On Monday – April Allure

Late on this April afternoon I am joining Cathy for In A Vase On Monday, a weekly challenge to fill a vase using materials gathered from one’s garden.

I wondered all weekend what might work in a vase for today, knowing blue-violet Anemone coronaria ‘Mr. Fokker’ would be my first choice. I had not imagined finding such a large and varied collection of blooms as I did. These flowers inspired me to create a formal classic round design.

Anemone coronaria 'Mr. Fokker'

Anemone coronaria ‘Mr. Fokker’

Camellia x 'Koto-no-kaori'

Camellia x ‘Koto-no-kaori’

Camellia x 'Coral Delight'

Camellia x ‘Coral Delight’

Helleborus x hybridus (Lenten rose)

Helleborus x hybridus (Lenten rose)

Spiraea prunifolia (bridal wreath spiraea)

Spiraea prunifolia (bridal wreath spiraea)

Narcissus 'Thalia’ (Thalia Daffodil)

Narcissus ‘Thalia’ (Thalia Daffodil)

For this week’s container I affixed floral foam to a 6-inch shallow plastic dish. Once the design was completed the shallow dish was placed atop the actual vase. The cream-colored ceramic urn, imprinted with “Vintage 4,” lends a traditional flair to the design and the extra height helps provide proper proportion.

The arrangement is held in a small shallow dish.

The arrangement is held in a small shallow dish.

 

In A Vase On Monday

In A Vase On Monday

I am happy with the arrangement, although there are always things to tweak. After seeing photographs of the arrangement I realize too many of the flowers are vying to become the focal point, taking away the emphasis from Mr. Fokker. I really like the pure bright white of the Thalia daffodil, Anemone coronaria ‘Bride’ and spiraea, and think it would help the balance of the design to bring the white further down toward the base. I like the green tones of the older hellebores, serving almost as foliage, while the fresher pinkish ones echo the hue of the camellias.

It is wonderful to have enough flowers for a mixed arrangement this week. Spring is welcome to hang around a while.

Materials

Anemone coronaria ‘Bride’
Anemone coronaria ‘Mr. Fokker’
Narcissus ‘Thalia’ (Thalia Daffodil)
Camellia x ‘Coral Delight’
Camellia x ‘Koto-no-kaori’
Spiraea prunifolia (bridal wreath spiraea)
Helleborus x hybridus (Lenten rose)
Buxus microphylla var koreana ‘Wintergreen’ (Wintergreen boxwood)
Heuchera villosa ‘Big Top Bronze’ (Coral Bells)

Many thanks to Cathy at Rambling In The Garden for hosting. Please visit her to see what she and others are placing In A Vase On Monday.

30 thoughts on “In A Vase On Monday—April Allure

  1. Donna@GardensEyeView

    I love the mix and I especially love Thalia for its white flower and scent. Mine won’t bloom for another month. I would say the camellias look like a focal point, but that changes depending on the view. No matter the view though it is gorgeous.

    Reply
  2. P&B

    This one is really exceptional! A lovely combination of colors. Every time I see your post on Camellia, I wish I could grow them in my garden too.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks so much Pris! The camellias are not at their best–even here it’s borderline for growing them. We had a night in the twenties a couple of weeks ago that damaged a lot of them, but the newer buds are finally opening. Hope spring is coming your way soon.

      Reply
  3. Cathy

    This is a professional arrangement in my eyes Susie! You are too harsh on yourself… the balance is perfect and for me the focus is the shape and then the blue anemone. Your garden must be a picture right now with these flowers blooming in it! 🙂

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Cathy, thanks for these encouraging words. I really am pleased with this one. The garden is picking up. I can see the blue and white anemones from my upstairs window–they are my favorites right now.

      Reply
  4. Pauline

    A beautiful arrangement of lovely flowers! Narcissus Thalia are only just opening here, this is one of my favourite narcissus, I can’t bear to cut mine!

    Reply
  5. Chloris

    A lovely colour combination. I love your anemones and Narcissus Thalia is one of my favourites. It is such a delicate shape. You are always very critical of your own arrangements; I think it is stunning.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Oh, but I’m a friendly critic Liz, just offering some constructive criticism! Thanks for your positive feedback. Thalia does have a nice shape, very graceful.

      Reply
  6. Christina

    I agree with the others regarding your self criticism, although it is nice to hear as it helps me understand the technique behind your beautiful arrangement. It is wonderful to suddenly have this abundance of flowers isn’t it? Mr Fokker is a beauty, I love it in a vase and in the garden.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Christina, it’s true every time I photograph the Monday vase the images help me see the design differently than when I’m just standing in front of it. I should then go back and do the necessary tweaking but rarely do. I expected to find only a couple of stems for this vase and was excited so many things were available this week. Have a good week.

      Reply
  7. Marian St.Clair

    I adore Thalia. I had a lovely sweep in my previous garden, but am afraid I don’t have enough light here. The arrangement is lovely. I wonder if a blue and white vase would have brought out ‘Mr. Fokker’ a bit more?

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      I can imagine your sweep of Thalia was lovely Marian. I’ve seen pictures of it used as a “river” with long stretches of Thalia in the center surrounded by blue banks of muscari on either side. Thanks for the tip about the vase color–that’s a great suggestion and it will be quick to test out. The color of the anemone recedes and I don’t have enough of them to compensate for that.

      Reply
  8. Cathy

    Even those of us who don’t consider that we do much other than ‘plonk’ into our vases are realising that a bit of tweaking can make a difference to the balance so we are all learning. What a lovely selection of flowers you have – and the white background really sets them off. Thalia has featured in a number of vases recently – something I need to add to my own garden I think! Thanks so much for sharing your lovely vase

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      That’s it Cathy–we’re all learning. And I am so glad you started sharing Monday vases because I doubt I would be practicing as much otherwise. I heartily recommend Thalia.

      Reply
  9. AnnetteM

    Lovely arrangement and what a clever idea to place a shallow container on top of the vase to add needed height. Anemones are one of my favourite flowers, especially blue or red ones, but I don’t have a lot of success growing them here. My Thalia are still tight buds, but something to look forward to.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Using the shallow dish means the stems don’t have to be terribly long, which is helpful. I can understand why anemones would be a favorite. I just came across a burgundy one in a bulb catalog today and am so tempted. Hope you Thalia perform well for you this year.

      Reply
  10. Anca Tîrcă

    Lovely vase, Susie, with so many beautiful flowers! I am impressed with all these flowers blooming in your garden at this time of the year!Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  11. Kris P

    Wow, Susie! The arrangement is stunning. I think you did a great job in balancing the colors. It’s nice to see anemones – mine bloomed early and died early, withered by the early heat we got in March. I envy your Camellias too – my only Japonica is still loaded with buds but they open only one at a time. (Again, I’m blaming the heat!)

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Hi Kris, thanks for the nice comment. The anemones have made me smile. This is the first year I’ve had any success with them. It must be hard to manage the garden with your unusual heat for this time of year and severe drought. Last year the Coral Delight Camellia was completely ruined by a cold snap so it’s nice to see it doing ok this year.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

