In A Vase On Monday – Pink Parfait

In A Vase On Monday - Paeonia 'Pink Parfait' (Pink Parfait Peony)

In A Vase On Monday – Paeonia ‘Pink Parfait’ (Pink Parfait Peony)

In a pink frenzy I am joining Cathy for In A Vase On Monday, a weekly challenge to fill a vase using materials gathered from one’s garden. I am not a huge fan of pink and last week’s vase featured a pink peony, but I risk being unimaginative so I can share this delicious Pink Parfait.

Paeonia 'Pink Parfait' (Pink Parfait Peony)

Paeonia ‘Pink Parfait’ (Pink Parfait Peony)

Paeonia 'Pink Parfait' (Pink Parfait Peony)

Paeonia ‘Pink Parfait’ (Pink Parfait Peony)

Paeonia x ‘Pink Parfait’ is a double peony with pink petals interspersed with occasional hints of cream. The flowers are quite fragrant and large. The larger one in this arrangement is 7 inches in diameter, the smaller one is 5 inches.

Paeonia 'Pink Parfait' (Pink Parfait Peony)

Paeonia ‘Pink Parfait’ (Pink Parfait Peony)

My grandmother’s pair of scalloped glass vases were just the right height for today’s duo. The smaller bloom was slightly too narrow to fit width-wise, so I used an acrylic floating ring in the water to lift the it above the surface.

Grandmother's Vases

Grandmother’s Vases

The flowers stand capably on their own integrity, but for a bit of contrast I included variegated leaves of Lemon Lime Warneckii. Warneckii is sold as a low-light house plant, but in flower design the leaves are useful for their color, pattern and ability to be manipulated.

Dracaena deremensis warneckii ‘Lemon Lime’

Dracaena deremensis warneckii ‘Lemon Lime’

Materials

Paeonia x ‘Pink Parfait’ (Pink Parfait Double Peony)
Dracaena deremensis warneckii ‘Lemon Lime’ (Lemon Lime Warneckii)
Acrylic floating ring
Clear scalloped glass vases

In A Vase On Monday - Paeonia 'Pink Parfait' (Pink Parfait Peony)

In A Vase On Monday – Paeonia ‘Pink Parfait’ (Pink Parfait Peony)

From either direction I am partial to the way this arrangement looks when viewed from above.

In A Vase On Monday - Paeonia 'Pink Parfait' (Pink Parfait Peony)

In A Vase On Monday – Paeonia ‘Pink Parfait’ (Pink Parfait Peony)

In A Vase On Monday - Paeonia 'Pink Parfait' (Pink Parfait Peony)

In A Vase On Monday – Paeonia ‘Pink Parfait’ (Pink Parfait Peony)

Many thanks to Cathy at Rambling In The Garden for hosting. Please visit her to see what she and others are placing In A Vase On Monday.

33 thoughts on “In A Vase On Monday – Pink Parfait

  1. Christina

    I’m not usually a big fan of peonies but I could easily be seduced by these beauties, they look good enough to eat. The vases are very pretty too.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Unlike the peony I used last week, this is a very long-lasting one. Some years the rain ruins them but we’re very dry here the last few weeks so that’s not a problem this year. My sister gave me the vases when she moved several years ago. I didn’t remember them from my grandmother but later found an old photo with them sitting on her mantel.

      Reply
  2. Sarah

    This is beautiful. I adore peonies, especially the fresh scent, but I understand when you say the rain ruins them. I’m still waiting for Sarah Bernhardt to flower this year, just as well as it’s very windy and rainy here in South East England.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      I do appreciate having my grandmother’s vases Julie. She had a beautiful cutting garden and I remember wandering behind her as she gathered flowers to bring indoors.

      Reply
  3. Cathy

    They are indeed perfect blooms – the vases are brilliant for them and the leaves add a simple elegance. How lovely to find a photo showing them in your grandmother’s house… Are the plastic rings specially for use in vases – are they a florist’s accessory? Thanks for sharing

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Cathy. The ring is a clear acrylic, doughnut-shaped object that floats. You can use it to float something like a camellia in a shallow saucer to keep the petals out of the water. I used it because my vase opening was too wide for one of the flowers, which kept slipping down inside the water. I couldn’t find a link buying one (mine was a gift) but they should be readily available at a floral supply.

      Reply
  4. Kris P

    There is no more perfect flower than the peony in my opinion. You could show them every week and I’d be appreciative, Susie. Adding the Dracaena foliage is a great touch.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Wish I could have peonies for you every week Kris. Glad you like them too. I’m intrigued they’re so long-living plants as well. The lemon lime foliage is fun to play with. Seems to go with everything.

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Hi Lily, that would be nice wouldn’t it? The weather is very hot here and dry this week so outside the peonies are fading. Glad I brought some indoors.

      Reply
  5. Cathy

    They look delicious… parfait is such a suitable name for them! Love the presentation, and the photos from above. The floral rings sound interesting – I must ask at my local florists if they know of them.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Cathy. Pink Parfait is very photogenic too. The little ring is inexpensive but I can’t remember where I’ve seen them for sale. Maybe a museum gift shop.

      Reply
  6. Annette

    Another one of your stunning zen vases, Susie, I’d recognize them from miles away. Love the way you shot it from above – like some exotic birds in flight 🙂

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      It does feel very zen Annette. Thanks. The peonies were very photogenic. Sometimes flowers are like some people who don’t like their pictures taken.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

