Wordless Wednesday—Firepot

Dahlia 'Firepot'

Dahlia ‘Firepot’

I went to pick up mulch yesterday but the garden center was completely out until later in the day. Vendors were delivering plants right and left and staff were scurrying to find room to place them all.

More than once I passed by an amazing grouping of several dozen large pots of Dahlia ‘Firepot’ and each time I told myself, “No, too expensive. You already planted some dahlias and besides, the color is too tropical for your garden.” But who listens to me?

Dahlia 'Firepot'

Dahlia ‘Firepot’

Dahlia 'Firepot'

Dahlia ‘Firepot’

For now I put it in a ceramic pot to brighten up one corner of the garden.

Dahlia 'Firepot'

Dahlia ‘Firepot’

29 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday—Firepot

    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Last year was my first attempt to grow a dahlia from the tuber. I’m happy to report it overwintered and is about to bloom again. I’m too inattentive about things like digging up bulbs, so am very pleased it made it through our very cold winter.

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      I repurposed this cream-colored pot that had been filled with an overgrown, root-bound penstemon for a couple of years. Not sure it’s actually big enough for this dahlia for long, but I couldn’t dig a hole deep enough in the ground either yesterday.

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Isn’t it a bit irresistible Matt? I never used to give dahlias a second thought, but last year one provided flower after flower well into autumn. Hope this one does too. You’ve had some very cold weather. We’re headed for torturously high temps next week.

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Yes, it is irresistible Julie. I’ve been treating myself to plants a bit often this spring, but as it’s getting so hot I will have to keep them all watered now. That could be a challenge.

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks. I’m glad I got the dahlia too. It looks right at home. (Sorry to be answering. Oddly, just came across your comment in my spam folder.)

      Reply
      1. woodlandgnome

        😊strange how that happens , even with people we share comments with a lot . I check my spam a little more often since Eliza’so comments somehow ended up in spam a few months ago . Looking forward to your vase today 😊

Leave a Reply

