In A Vase On Monday—Keep Calm And Garden On

In A Vase On Monday - Keep Calm And Garden On

In A Vase On Monday – Keep Calm And Garden On

Monday morning is time to join Cathy for In A Vase On Monday, a weekly invitation to fill and share a vase using materials gathered from one’s garden.

In A Vase On Monday - Keep Calm And Garden On

In A Vase On Monday – Keep Calm And Garden On

My two younger sisters helped me celebrate my birthday last week with some special garden-themed gifts, several of which I incorporated into the setting for today’s vase. One is a refashioned and repurposed silver spoon stamped with the words, “Keep Calm And Garden On,” guidance I appreciate and shall try to follow.

In A Vase On Monday - Keep Calm And Garden On

In A Vase On Monday – Keep Calm And Garden On

The arrangement sits atop a beautiful batik table runner made by my quilter sister. The colors in the fabric echo those of the today’s flowers as do those in the pretty kitchen towel with diminutive pots of herbs. I had not planned the vase around these items but they make nice companions.

In A Vase On Monday - Keep Calm And Garden On

In A Vase On Monday – Keep Calm And Garden On

The flowers themselves are a simple summer bouquet of Shasta daisies paired with dark orange and deep pink Zinnias. Multi-branched stems of Lantana camara provide foliage as well as complementary floral accents in pink, orange and gold.

Shasta Daisy, Zinnia and Lantana

Shasta Daisy, Zinnia and Lantana

Materials

Lantana camara (Common lantana)
Leucanthemum superbum ‘Alaska’ (Shasta Daisy)
Zinnia

Zinnias

Zinnias

Thank you to Cathy at Rambling In The Garden for welcoming everyone to join her in this opportunity to share a vase each week. Please visit her to see what she and others are placing In A Vase On Monday.

40 thoughts on “In A Vase On Monday—Keep Calm And Garden On

  1. Christina

    I love knowing that we both have that bright crimson zinnia in our gardens, it makes me feel closer to you! A belated Happy Birthday, how lovely that you could share it with your sisters. The flowers may be simple but this vases seems to me to be full of joy.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks. This is a joyful vase Christina. Every time I pass by, it makes me smile. I’m happy for every zinnia that blooms as very few came up this year, but one of the zinnia collections I planted was all red, 4-5 inches across. They’re not that large though.

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Enough heat, yes, but I usually get some zinnias that reseed and that didn’t happen this year. Also out of 3 packets of seed, I’ve ended up with only 7 plants.

      Reply
  2. bittster

    Happy birthday! Love the colors this week, I wouldn’t have thought to mix the daisies in but they really pick up the yellows and lighten up the vase!
    We are in Florence SC this morning and feeling your heat!

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      The daisies have done well this summer and I’ve been trying to deadhead them to keep them going (not my favorite job). They seem to want some company in a vase. It seems there is plenty of heat to go around this summer. Plenty of water and have a nice time.

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks so much Eliza. I’m sorry to be so long in replying to you but just found your comment in my spam folder. The flowers were cheery indeed and long-lasting (until this morning actually).

      Reply
      1. Eliza Waters

        You are the second person today to tell me my comment went to spam. Que pasa, WP? I wonder how many others it has happened to? Quirky! Glad you finally saw it! 🙂

    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Jason. It’s a good year for daisies. Often they’re already dried up by now but I’ve kept them watered this year. Poor germination means there are very few zinnias this year, but I love these rich colors.

      Reply
  3. Kris P

    A belated happy birthday, Susie! Your arrangement is bright and cheerful and your sisters’ gifts pair with it perfectly. Coincidentally, I have that very same spoon.

    Reply
  4. Cathy

    That is lovely, Susie – the lantana is perfect with the other blooms and your sister’s Table runner was such an opportune prop for this colourway. And yes, of course we should keep calm and garden on … (but what a coincidence to be linking with my calm and serene vase!) 😉

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Yes, a bit of happenstance we should both be thinking of calm this morning. Lantana doesn’t have a pleasant odor but it seemed a perfect foil for the other flowers.

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      I had a lovely birthday Donna. Thanks for your good wishes. Only a few (7) zinnias came up this year. Can’t figure it out, but I do like the rich colors.

      Reply
  5. rickii

    Celebrating with sisters who understand you so well…what could be better. I’ll add my belated Birthday Greetings and add “celebrate on” to the spoon’s motto. Love your lighthearted, cheerful vase.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Rickii. It has been a nice celebration of my birthday this year and fun. I’m enjoying these flowers–they’re simple but happy ones.

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thank you Liz. I haven’t used lantana in arrangements often but it is lasting pretty well this time. The zinnias are very few this year, but they make up for it in size and rich color.

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      The strong gold color in the center of the daisies helps them stand up to the rich colors in the other flowers, perhaps. I adore white flowers.

      Reply
  6. Gina

    Belated birthday wishes. I love that vase of flowers. I adore hot colours. My Zinnias are only now starting to bud. I seeded them late this year but hopefully they can put in an appearance soon

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Gina! It was a good birthday. Hope your zinnias will open soon. They can be just the thing on hot summer days. I might try to re-sow zinnias. Mine didn’t do well this year.

      Reply
  7. P&B

    Belated Happy Birthday! Wishing you calmness and plenty of time to carry on with your lovely garden.

    I never thought of Lantana as a flower fit for arrangement, but you have proved me wrong. They are so lovely and mix well with Zinnia and Daisy.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thank you! Previously I’ve used a short sprig or two of lantana if nothing else was available, but it actually has lasted very well this week and because it is so colorful it goes with a lot of different flowers. The smell is not very nice.

      Reply
  8. Petal & Pins

    Such a ‘happy’ looking arrangement with those colours. I used to love the tiny flowerettes of lantana as a child but it is now a ‘declared weed’ in most Australian States which means it’s prohibited to grow, cultivate or sell it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

