In A Vase On Monday—Featuring Gardenias

Trio of Vases - Overhead View

Trio of Vases – Overhead View

Trio of Vases - Overhead View (B&W)

Trio of Vases – Overhead View (B&W)

Monday brings the chance to practice flower arranging by joining in Cathy’s weekly challenge In A Vase On Monday, where the goal is simply to fill a vase using materials gathered in one’s own garden.

Yesterday I gathered a variety of flowers and foliage and placed them into glasses of warm water for conditioning. There were Zinnias, Dahlias, Perovskia, Lantana, Pink Muhly Grass, even a single, long-awaited Cosmos.

But of these, only a few of the Zinnias made it into this week’s arrangement. I never finished working with most of the flowers I collected, but did complete a trio of vases—two small and one large ceramic containers.

Trio of Vases

Trio of Vases

The prized blooms this week are gardenias from bushes on the north side of the house. Their fragrant, waxy white flowers and deep green leaves are the main focus for the large vase, accentuated by a few boldly colored zinnias.

Gardenias and Zinnias

Gardenias and Zinnias

Gardenia sp.

Gardenia sp.

 

In one of the small vases are an Echinacea ‘Big Sky Sundown,’ a gardenia with greenery and several sprigs of Salvia guaranitica ‘Black and Blue.’

Black and Blue and Sundown

Black and Blue and Sundown

In the other small green vase are five pink and orange Zinnias, simply arranged.

Vase of Pink and Orange Zinnias

Vase of Pink and Orange Zinnias

The vases were interesting to photograph from above. I seldom include props but today I used one of several pieces of decorative molding salvaged from my father’s cabinet shop to play with the composition of the largest vase. (I had planned to use this molding with last week’s orchid but as it turned out it detracted from the integrity of the flower. Here it just is used to add weight to the bottom of the composition.)

Doecorative Molding

Decorative Molding

Gardenias and Zinnias - Overhead View

Large Vase – Gardenias and Zinnias – Overhead View

Large Vase - Gardenias and Zinnias

Large Vase – Gardenias and Zinnias

I like the black and white version of the last image.

Large Vase - Gardenias and Zinnias (B&W)

Large Vase – Gardenias and Zinnias (B&W)

Materials
Echinacea ‘Big Sky Sundown’ (Hybrid Coneflower)
Gardenia sp.
Salvia guaranitica ‘Black and Blue’
Zinnia

Thanks to Cathy at Rambling In The Garden for hosting. Discover what she and others are placing In A Vase On Monday and feel free to join in.

35 thoughts on “In A Vase On Monday—Featuring Gardenias

  1. Christina

    I’m glad you have some Gardenias flowering, I am going to try one here, our climates aren’t so different and I love their perfume. Showing images in B&W certainly shows that the design works, I don’t think I’d be brave enough to show mine in that way, but maybe I will try looking at some of my vases in B&W I’m sure I would learn more about what works. Have a lovely week, Christina

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks, I do hope your gardenia will work out. Seeing gardenias in bloom again is a treat and they smell so nice in the house. I occasionally review images in B&W but mine don’t usually hold up very well, but today I was pleased with these. It is instructive to see the flowers and images in general in this way. I think I need to figure out a way to have better light sources. Hope your week is lovely as well.

      Reply
  2. Julie

    Your vases are always so stylish, I really like the B/W photos too, I agree with Christina, thats a great way to to see pared back from colour how well your vases work. The decorative moulding is beautiful, what did your father do with them?

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thank you Julie. The B&W are fun to play with. My sister suggested the moldings were pattern examples, but I really don’t know. Both grandfathers were cabinetmakers so I wonder if one of them created them. The history is lost but I just wanted to hang on to them and maybe I’ll one day find a use.

      Reply
  3. beverlydyer

    You inspire me!! Guess no yoga today. Happy Labor Day. I’m busy as a bee getting my coloring deck finished. The first is a deck of 12 botanical illustrations. I wonder if your followers who are lovers of flowers would be interested. Cheers, Beverly

    Reply
  4. rickii

    Such a fresh, crisp look and the colors are great. I’ve often read that taking black and white photos is a good way to assess a garden’s design quality.

    Reply
  5. Cathy

    Beautiful! Such pristine flowers and lovely photos Susie. I love the blue Salvia in your small blue vase as a contrast to the other colours. Stunning!

    Reply
  6. Donna@Gardens Eye View

    Very interesting in black and white…and if I lived in a warmer climate I would have to grow gardenias…I love when you show yours….I have never seen them in person. Lovely trio of vases that work well together.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      The flowers do smell lovely this week Eliza! I added some new gardenias this spring that didn’t make it through the summer. The one that has blooms was a passalong from a good friend.

      Reply
  7. Hannah

    I’m in awe of your gardenias, I love their fragrance so much but they are not hardy enough where I live. They look wonderful with the red zinnias, and the Black and Blue Salvia is a great contrast, especially in the wonderul blue vase. I like the flowers arranged in the three vases, too, and the addition of the wooden carving.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      The gardenias are very fleeting but the fragrance has been wonderful around the house today. That deep black and blue saliva has unreal color. I’m so happy it decided to bloom some more.

      Reply
  8. Kris P

    More gorgeous arrangements, Susie! I’ve never tried converting my images to black and white but will have to do that one day – they create stunning comparisons to the bright color versions. The white gardenias are perfect in all your images – I’d love to create a vase with them for enjoyment of the scent alone but my one small plant seldom blooms (and when it does, I usually discover it too late to make use of the flowers).

    Reply
  9. Cathy

    There is certainly something to be said for a stark and pristine white background, Susie – not something I would ever be able to find for my vases! It really emboldens the clean lines of your blooms and the b&w images enhance it even more. Thanks for sharing

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      At least for the flowers today the white background was effective I think. I can’t find many spots for staging where I can get enough light, but I need to try some other options. Sometimes, a softer, less stark background would be more desirable. Photographing the flowers has been more challenging than growing the flowers! Hope your vacation is fun.

      Reply
  10. Ann Edwards Photography

    they are indeed prized blooms – I love the Gardenias and Zinnias together – two of my favourite flowers. Stylish images too!

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      The gardenias didn’t last very long before turning brown but their fragrance lingered. My zinnias have powdery mildew but it doesn’t affect the flowers themselves. They’re still blooming well.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

