In A Vase On Monday—A Pitcher Of Late Summer

Monday brings the chance to share cut flowers from the garden by joining in Cathy’s weekly challenge In A Vase On Monday. In preparation I gathered flowers Sunday morning. It was a lovely day for enjoying being outside, clear sunny blue skies and 73 degrees F. (23C.).

Late Summer Pitcher

Late Summer Pitcher

For some time now I have intended to feature this rudbeckia—Rudbeckia laciniata (Green-Headed Coneflower)—in a very tall glass vase, as the stems are quite long. But the effect was not as I had imagined. In the end I pared them down and chose a more rustic container.

I loosely combined them with pink and orange zinnias, lantana and cosmos into a matte putty-gray jug to create an informal late summer arrangement.

Late Summer Pitcher

Late Summer Pitcher

While the lantana and zinnias are very sturdy, these rudbeckia petals behave just the opposite—flowing and draping and acting all dramatic.

Late Summer Pitcher

Late Summer Pitcher

Late Summer Pitcher

Late Summer Pitcher

The colors in the lantana, a bright medley of red, orange, yellow, reflect those of all the other flowers in the arrangement. Meanwhile the umbels or flower clusters of the lantana contrast with the composite form of its companions.

Lantana Echoes Colors of Zinnia and Rudbeckia

Lantana Echoes Colors of Zinnia and Rudbeckia

Materials
Cosmos
Lantana camara (Common lantana)
Rudbeckia laciniata (Green-Headed Coneflower)
Zinnia

Rudbeckia laciniata (Green-Headed Coneflower)

Rudbeckia laciniata (Green-Headed Coneflower)

This should be a long-lasting arrangement, bringing the golden glow of late summer sunshine to the indoors.

Update: The Phalaenopsis orchid blossom used in my vase two weeks ago is still looking fresh.

Thanks to Cathy for hosting this weekly flower addiction. Visit her at Rambling In The Garden to discover what she and others are placing In A Vase On Monday and feel free to join in.

38 thoughts on “In A Vase On Monday—A Pitcher Of Late Summer

  1. Christina

    The temperature yesterday sounds ideal, I’m so glad you could enjoy being in the garden. You are very disciplined to change the vase when it didn’t work in the way you thought it might. The jug is perfect; you’ve created quite a different style vase today, it’s beautiful.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Christina. You probably realize which glass vase I had my eye on to use, so I was disappointed my idea didn’t work. The general rule is the height of the flowers should be 1.5 times the height of the vase, but I didn’t cut the rudbeckia stems quite long enough. I wanted to leave some flowers for the birds and insects so didn’t want to take more cuttings. This arrangement today is lively and I’m planning to carry it to a neighbor who could use some cheer today.

      Reply
  2. Donna@Gardens Eye View

    I love Rudbeckia laciniata and how it flops as it is quite dramatic in the vase….and the plain jug allows these flowers to all shine as fall descends on us soon….it was cool here all weekend and quite rainy which was so restful for the garden and gardener.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      We’ve had a bit of rain too (at long last!) Donna. Sometimes it’s nice to just relax and enjoy a rainy day. I’m not working in my garden much at all lately.

      Reply
  3. Cathy

    Another zingy vase – and the lantana is such a good flower for linking other blooms together, as if this is what it was created for! Definitely suggests there is still summer warmth in your garden too – thanks for sharing

    Reply
  4. Kris P

    I don’t know what I envy more this week, Susie – your weather or your lovely vase! Your creations are always so well balanced. I struggled mightily with achieving balance with my own this week.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Kris, but I struggled a lot with the balance on this. Then I just gave in and let the flowers go where they wanted. Only this one side was satisfactory. I saw your succulents and I think you achieved a nice combination, balancing texture and color and shape. Our sky is nice and blue again today but much warmer again.

      Reply
  5. homeslip

    I love the colours in your vase today, a cheery sunshine vase. So glad it’s cooling down for you. It’s been quite a challenging year worldwide for growers I think.

    Reply
  6. rickii

    Your description of the behavior of the Rudbeckia petals is priceless. I, too, am impressed by your willingness to change tactics when your original idea failed to work out.

    Reply
  7. Julie

    A lovely jug of late summer blooms Susie – I think the rustic style works perfectly with the flowers – you are right that the rudbeckia has a hint of the drama queen about her!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

