Peony In Pink

Pink Peony

Pink Peony

A mixup with two mail-order peonies several years ago left me with a Paeonia ‘Festiva Maxima’ instead of Paeonia lactiflora ‘Duchess de Nemours’ and masquerading as Paeonia lactiflora ‘Black Beauty’ (Nightlife Peony), this lovely pink mystery.

I think I went ahead and labeled it P. ‘Black Beauty’ last year when if bloomed, but it cannot be accurate. If you recognize it I would appreciate knowing its name. This is the pink mystery peony in and out of the garden.

Pink Peony with Stachys byzantina (Lamb's Ear) and pale yellow Iris

Pink Peony with Stachys byzantina (Lamb’s Ear) and pale yellow Iris

Veronica spicata 'Rotfuchs' (Red Fox Veronica) is companion to the pink peony, but mostly hidden by the peony foliage.

Veronica spicata ‘Rotfuchs’ (Red Fox Veronica) is companion to the pink peony, but its first blooms are mostly hidden by the peony foliage.

I included white P. ‘Festiva Maxima’ in Monday’s vase of Hippeastrum, but also had filled the house with vases of many other flowers, including the unknown pink peony.  Joining the pink peony in a Fenton vase are Phlox divaricata (Woodland phlox), Iris tectorum (Japanese Roof Iris), and Digitalis Foxlight ‘Ruby Glow’.

Pink Peony Vase

Pink Peony Vase

Pink Peony Vase

Pink Peony Vase

Pink Peony Vase

Pink Peony Vase

Pink Peony Vase

Pink Peony Vase

Pink Peony Vase

Pink Peony Vase

27 thoughts on “Peony In Pink

    1. pbmgarden Post author

      I do like this peony, though it’s not the blackish red I was after. Had several other vases to share on Monday but decided to just focus on the amaryllis. This week the garden is giving lots of blooms.

      Reply
      1. Christina

        I suppose I should pick some of the last irises for a vase but they really look better in the garden. I loved your Monday vase

  1. johnvic8

    I recognize it! I have one just like it (I think). But….I don’t know its name. It came through several generations from my grandmother’s garden.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Julie. It’s been a wonderful, slow spring. This year the peonies have had a chance to develop and linger before “summer” intrudes.

      Reply
  2. rickii

    I think Peonies are a lot like Iris, in that so many people are hybridizing them and giving them names that it’s almost impossible to keep up. It’s a beauty, even if destined to remain nameless and you built a super bouquet around it.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Judy, it’s been such a lovely spring here, much nicer than last year. Still, humidity is creeping in so summer’s near. You’ll see soon enough.

      Reply
  3. Beth @ PlantPostings

    Your arrangement is lovely, as always! I’m not very good at identifying cultivars and hybrids–there are so many. But that’s a gorgeous Peony. My Peonies usually bloom at the end of May or early June. They are great for arrangements, aren’t they?

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thank you Beth. I look forward to seeing your peonies later. I’ve heard peonies are more easily grown in a colder environment but this spring I’ve been happy with peonies. It is beginning to get humid though.

      Reply
  4. Kris P

    It’s a beautiful plant, whatever its name! I looked up ‘Black Beauty’ and, while it’s also spectacular, I think I like your pink mystery variety even better.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Kris, perhaps it was a lucky mix-up after all. This peony has a very nice form. I searched to try to match it to a name–amazing how many peonies there are out there!

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thank you so much. I’ve only grown peonies for a few years and this has been the best season ever. Makes me want to order more.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

