In A Vase On Monday—Vertical Challenge

In A Vase On Monday-Vertical Challenge

In A Vase On Monday-Vertical Challenge

Monday brings the chance to display cut flowers from the garden by participating in Cathy’s weekly invitation In A Vase On Monday.

Today’s arrangement of gladiolas and hydrangeas went together quickly, but I thought I might never get any pictures I could use to share them.

In A Vase On Monday-Vertical Challenge

In A Vase On Monday-Vertical Challenge

Gladiolas, adorable old-fashioned favorites, this year are blooming straighter and taller than ever, setting off today’s vertical challenge.

Though I have the perfect vase to accommodate the gladiolas’ height, photographing such a tall arrangement has been a test. I much prefer landscape format for my images, but the vertical nature of these flowers forced me into four different picture-taking sessions of mostly portrait format. Finding a satisfactory background with adequate light and capturing the rich intensity of color among the gladiolas were tricky.

Almost 200 photos later, realizing I needed to chill, I finally chose a handful to represent my Monday vase. The very first image gives a good idea of the overall size, proportion and shape of the design. The colors are truer in this version below.

In A Vase On Monday-Vertical Challenge

In A Vase On Monday-Vertical Challenge

Materials

Gladiolus
Hydrangea macrophylla
Glass vase (This glass vase is one I love using, especially as it commemorates last year’s visit from Christina almost 1 year ago.)

 

In A Vase On Monday-Vertical Challenge

In A Vase On Monday-Vertical Challenge

This should be a long-lasting arrangement. I like the way it turned out and now that I am no longer photographing it, I know I will enjoy it this week.

In A Vase On Monday-Vertical Challenge

In A Vase On Monday-Vertical Challenge

As always, thanks to Cathy for hosting this weekly flower obsession. Visit her at Rambling In The Garden to discover what she and other gardeners are placing In A Vase On Monday.

37 thoughts on “In A Vase On Monday—Vertical Challenge

  1. Christina

    I’m so happy the vase is useful for the gorgeous gladioli. I would never have thought of putting them with hydrangeas, I learn something from you almost every week! I used gladiolus today too, but I’m not so keen on the colour of these and I might just remove them when they’ve finished flowering so that I can plant a better colour next year.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      I like how the sides of the vase narrow at the top. At Art In Bloom this spring I saw lots of hydrangeas used as a starting point at the base of the vase. They provide a framework to help support the rest of the flowers. At the time I didn’t expect to have enough hydrangeas to be able to try that myself. I liked your glads and thought they worked well with the other flowers. These used today were planted last spring but didn’t bloom well last year.

      Reply
  2. Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

    Beautiful arrangement – flowers and vase. I planted twelve glads this year, but I’m only seeing about three coming up. I haven’t tried to grow any in years and was really excited. I think I’ll need to temper my anticipation. 🙂

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thank you Judy. Hope the rest of your glads tag along soon. These were planted last year but didn’t bloom well, so I was surprised to see them perform so well this year. It’s a difference in having good rains I think.

      Reply
  3. bittster

    I love the rich colors again, and the flowers are perfect. Your efforts paid off!
    I stopped buying glads once I realized I had too many years when I never got around to planting them on time. Fortunately a few have proven to be hardy, so if I can accept a much more limiting range of colors I can at least still enjoy them each summer.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thank you. Glads are usually pretty reliable. I have a coral one that is probably 12 years old. I don’t think it’s too late to get those glads planted.

      Reply
  4. G.F.

    You did gloriously well with a difficult assignment:
    Background: perfect
    height: accommodated brilliantly.
    Oh, the anguish we go through for our art 🙂
    And fancy, being able to grow such perfect glads.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thank you, thank you. The glads are amazing this year so I had to use them while I could. Usually they’re toppled over and growing at odd angles. Will try to not worry about the photos quite so much next week.

      Reply
  5. Kris Peterson

    I get frustrated like that with the photo-taking process at times too, Susie. You finally get the right light but the colors are off. Or one flower is turned to a bad angle. Etcetera. I think you got some good images despite the height challenge. I especially like the one showing the vase on the table with the floral art in the background.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      You’ve described it. One whole set of pictures was ruined because things had shifted when I moved the vase around in search of better light. How could I not have noticed that? Oh well, all better now. My son-in-law did the pastel drawing of a Siberian Iris from my garden.

      Reply
  6. Cathy

    My goodness – those gladioli are such dramatic colours and would convert any gladioli dislikers in an instant! I am not sure that I have seen such colours before and the hydrangea sften the edge between them and the vase perfectly. I am sorry they were such a pain to photograph 🙂

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      The glads are from a “blue” mix planted last year. It was so hot and dry they didn’t bloom very well, so I’m especially happy to be able to use them in a vase this year. Some weeks the light is just perfect and the flowers are easy to photograph, but guess it’s all a learning experience.

      Reply
  7. Cathy

    A lovely and unusual combination Susie. I love the rich colours of those Gladioli and am impressed with the photos – it is so difficult to get the right shot sometimes, but you have captured these perfectly. 🙂

    Reply
  8. Julie

    Your vase is so special this week Susie – I love the combination and think that the low hydrangeas perfectly set off the sometimes awkward gladioli. I will have to wait until mid to late July to enjoy these blooms in my garden.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Julie, I appreciate your comments. Having enough hydrangeas this year for the first time to experiment with in vases has been so fun. They’re versatile flowers.

      Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Joanna. There is one hydrangea stem that I wish I’d tucked in a different way, but I was happy the stems organized themselves very well. Usually I choose a ceramic vase to avoid the problem of stems.

      Reply
  9. Cathy

    Thank you, thank you for being so honest about the time and number of photographs! Given that your vases are always superb (and I always envy the lovely walls/settings in your home that you have at your disposal) you have encouraged me so much. Sometimes I feel life is too short, but I really enjoy the meme all the same! As to your vase – elegant and accomplished which is what I always expect from your vases, Susie. The colours of the gladioli are delicious – and what an interesting comment to Christina about using hydrangeas as a base to support other flowers. Do you leave your glads in the ground each year, or do you lift them? Thanks so much – and don’t worry, I think we would all enjoy your vases even if you spent a half hour on them!

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Cathy, thanks for your kind and generous comments. I find preparing a vase on Monday is a nice exercise for my brain and I don’t mind spending time on it, but this week I obsessed too much. If I hadn’t had the time to spend I would have just picked out a couple of pictures and it would have been ok too. Some weeks the light is very good and I am satisfied with the first or second photo. Anyway, I’m glad you liked the vase and the gladioli themselves. I really like the range of deep colors. I do leave them in the ground to overwinter. Most return for many years unless I disturb the soil. Have a great week Cathy.

      Reply
  10. Anna

    Your glads are a most appealing combination of colours Susie and I like the frilly hydrangea collar. I planted some glads at the allotment where unfortunately the stalks have been munched by a rabbit 😦 I’m hoping that they still go on to produce flowers.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Thanks Anna. Hope your gladioli recover from the rabbit’s nibbling. I have a rabbit this year too but so far he’s not been too noticeably destructive.

      Reply
  11. skyfacebear

    oh, I love the glads! i saw a couple of them blooming the other day but rarely see them here at all.

    Reply
    1. pbmgarden Post author

      Hi! I love them too. Really don’t see glads anywhere around here either. I cut one coral glad this week that I think came with us from Wave Road.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

